So…… “Here’s the Thing”

“Don’t wait to be validated by some publication. Just start writing.”

An experienced reporter said this to me recently when I asked if they had any advice for someone my age interested in pursuing journalism.

Validation is a tricky thing, especially in writing. To a certain degree, I feel confident in my work. I’ve written about business, technology and politics for a legitimate news magazine and my university newspaper. But, for a longtime I’ve still felt unqualified to write about the topics I’m interested in unless it’s for an established publication.

Thanks to a couple of good friends and a few long talks, I’ve casted validation aside. I’m going to write about things I’m passionate about: business, technology, startups, venture capital, beer and tea. Do these topics mesh well? Maybe not, but we’ll see — welcome to “Here’s the Thing.”

For those of you that know me, the name of this blog will make sense. If you don’t know me, let’s chat: dstrauss2121@gmail.com. I’d love to connect. After a short talk, the name “Here’s the Thing” might make sense.

This blog is going to feature topics ranging from the biggest ideas and happenings in business, technology and startups, to the most obscure aspects of even more obscure industries. As a journalist, I value integrity and fact-based reporting. I’m going to infuse that into my writing here. My stories will be thoroughly researched and sourced. I don’t consider myself an expert in anything, so I’m not going to act like one. I’m going to collect facts, research and expert opinions to put together thoughtful stories that inform and educate people on topics that interest me. This is going to be a one-man operation, so if you see a typo or mistake, tear me apart. I deserve it.

Many stories will also include my own analysis — if you disagree with something, tell me. Let’s talk about it and figure out why we have different opinions. If there’s a topic you want me to report on, let me know. I’m interested in that too. If what I write about adds value to your life, read it. If not, find writing that does.

Let’s get after it.

Leave a comment